Vegan Brinner

IMG_4934

Last night we had brinner for supper. What’s brinner? Well, brinner = breakfast + dinner. See what I did there? Actually, a good friend of mine came up with that term and it’s stuck with me ever since because I love it!

Who doesn’t love a good, comforting, filling breakfast? For me, it conjures up weekend mornings. My Dad would make homemade biscuits, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages, and sometimes pancakes. He’d even make white gravy. If you’re Southern or have even traveled to the South and had breakfast, you’ll know what I’m talking about. It’s a gravy that’s white but just oh so yummy and synonymous with biscuits at breakfast. If you still have no idea what I’m talking about, which is perfectly ok, Google “Southern white gravy.”

However, since I’m on a plant-based diet, I simply substitute tofu for the eggs. I love making scrambled tofu. It’s so simple, delicious, and filling. I’ve always made scrambled tofu from Minimalist Baker, but I wanted to branch out and try something new. I’m not saying her recipe is bad, I love it and so do the Hubs and little one, but sometimes you just get a hankering (or as my Dad would say “get a wild hair up your butt”) to try something new. So, I found this one on One Green Planet.

This is a simple recipe with very simple directions. But, me being me, I decided to make it a bit harder. Instead of using 6 potatoes diced small, I decided to use a whole bunch of little potatoes and quarter them.

IMG_4921

Then I chopped up the onion and peppers. She calls for half of an onion and peppers. So what did I do? I used one whole onion and one whole red and green pepper. My thought was maybe this recipe is just for one person. Since I’m feeding three I might as well double it.

IMG_4926

She says to sauté the vegetables and spices for about 20 minutes until the potatoes are cooked. Here’s where my problem came in. Since I just quartered the potatoes, it took me A LOT longer than 20 minutes to get the potatoes to cook. I eventually had to add some water to the pan in the hopes that steaming would help cook them. Follow directions people. That’s what they’re there for!

IMG_4927.jpg

After my potatoes eventually cooked. I added in my spinach. Instead of using fresh spinach, I just grabbed some frozen ones that I already had in the freezer. If you use frozen spinach, make sure to thaw it out first. Mix everything up and then squeeze in your tofu. I love this part when making scrambled tofu. You break pieces off of the block and just squeeze it between your fingers. It’s kind of therapeutic. Then stir some more.

Now, she doesn’t call for turmeric, but I added a bit just to give it some color. Most scrambled tofu recipes will call for turmeric to give the tofu that eggy yellow color. Besides adding color, it adds flavor and nutrition.

This dish was simple and great tasting. If I had followed the directions, the dish would’ve taken less time to cook . That’s my only regret. Because I didn’t chop my potatoes small enough, they took longer to cook and I felt the other vegetables ended up being overcooked. When and if you make this dish, make sure to chop your potatoes small so all the vegetables cook in the same amount of time.

I may or may not have anything to post for tomorrow. I’ve picked out a Jamie Oliver recipe that I might get the Hubs to cook. I’ve got an art get together with some ladies on the street tonight that’s going to involve wine and food. So, I might spend tomorrow researching TVP for a post. Either way, I’ll let y’all know via twitter and Instagram.

2 thoughts on “Vegan Brinner

Leave a Reply

