Green Dinosaur Soup

watermark_broccoli

Ah broccoli the bane of all children worldwide. My three-year-old must be an anomaly because he likes broccoli. I’m not a huge fan of it, but I will encourage my son if that’s what he likes. The Hubs will even make an effort when I cook with it.

Most people don’t like broccoli because of the rotten eggs smell you get from them. You don’t want to overcook broccoli for a few reasons. When you overcook it, you’ll get the sulfur smell which immediately will bring flashbacks to you being five years old and being told by your Mom to finish everything on your plate. By overcooking broccoli, you’re breaking down the sulfur, chlorophyll and other phytonutrients inside. Sulfur-containing phytonutrients have been linked to cancer prevention. Chlorophyll has many health benefits which are still being studied. Broccoli also contains vitamins A, C, and folic acid, some B vitamins, potassium, calcium, phosphorus, magnesium, and iron. In order to maintain the integrity of these delicate nutrients you only need to cook it very little such as by steaming it just until it turns a bright green.

SO! On to the recipe. I couldn’t remember if it was this recipe from My New Roots or another source, but I was in the mood for soup. I remember the last time I made a broccoli soup, I called it the Green Dinosaur Soup so it would be fun for my three-year-old. So, when I asked him if he wanted it again, I got an enthusiastic “YES!”

You start out by soaking your cashew nuts for about four hours. DON’T forget this and DON’T leave them to soak for two days either. I did that with another recipe and totally forgot about them and the cashews just turned into this smelly gelatinous mess.

Soaking cashews for broccoli soup

Before I continue on, keep in mind that this soup takes about 30 minutes to do. I started doing mine WAY too early.

Once your soaking is done, throw your cashews in a blender with the salt, water, garlic, lemon juice, and salt. Don’t worry when you see it doesn’t turn a white color immediately (like in her photos). It’ll eventually turn a white color and turn to a creamy consistency.

greendinosaursoup_watermark

Next you’ll cook your onions and garlic. She says to cook 1lb of onions. I thought that would’ve been a tad too much for the three of us, so I only cooked one onion. I did, however, use 6 cloves of garlic. Then you’ll add your vegetable broth. I followed the recipe’s suggestion of adding 6 cups of broth. I figured the broth would cut down the flavor of the broccoli a bit. I had four cups of my own and I had to add two of store-bought broth.

greendinosaursoup_broth_watermark

While the broth is boiling, you’ll chop the broccoli into the little bitty florets. Now, the recipe says to use 2lbs of broccoli. Again, I thought that was going to be too much so I just used two broccoli stems/things/bunch. When you’re ready, add them to the broth and just sit back and watch them turn a bright green.

greendinosaursoup_brightgreenbroccoli_watermark

Remember, you don’t want to overcook them. If you start to smell the tell-tale eggy/sulfur smell, take your pot off the heat. Once they’re a bright green color, put everything in the blender with half of the cashew cream (I ended up having 2 cups of the cashew cream) until it’s all smooth. You might have to do it in batches. I certainly did. There was just WAY too much soup to pour it all in at once.

Add your parsley, nutritional yeast, and lemon juice and taste. Because I have an allergy to parsley, I substituted basil. If you’re using parsley go right ahead. You can use the 1 cup fresh parsley like the recipe or use dried parsley. You can try starting out with 1tsp of dried parsley and see how that tastes. I used 1tsp of basil and thought it tasted fine. You can use any herb here if you like really.

Then you serve however you like, but don’t forget to mix in the other half of the cashew cream. I served my son’s with a grilled cheese sandwich and he loved it!

greendinosaursoupwithgrilledcheese_watermark

This recipe takes NO time at all to make. I did find the amount of ingredients to be too much for the three of us, but it might be just the right amount for you. What I ended up with was pretty good. The little one ate all of his and so did the Hubs!

Leave a Reply

