Roasted Tomato and Herb Quiche

A quiche is basically a pie filled with eggs, milk, and custard. It’s essentially a savory pie that you can eat for breakfast or dinner. You’ll find versions where meat and vegetables are mixed in and it’s just all around yummy. However, if you’re on a plant-based diet eating a quiche isn’t going to be in your recipe box. So what’s a vegan/vegetarian to do? Read on my friend!

I’ve had this Roasted Tomato and Herb Quiche recipe in one of my many bookmark folders for a while. I’ve made it once before a long time ago. For some unexplained reason, making this dish intimidated me then as much as it did last night. After making it for the second time, I don’t know what my fear was because it’s pretty simple to do.

First off you want to roast some tomatoes. This time I used parchment paper! Hooray for reading the directions!! Y’all remember what happened last time? That link also explains the nutritional value of tomatoes if you’re interested as well. The recipe calls for 2lbs of tomatoes, but I only used 3 tomatoes. I guess if you want the top of your quiche to be totally covered by tomatoes (like in the photo), you can use as many tomatoes as you want. I was pressed for time since I started cooking late and I couldn’t be bothered slicing that much.

roasting tomatoes for vegan quiche

While your tomatoes are roasting, go ahead and work on your crust. If you’re a vegan, a vegetarian that doesn’t eat eggs, you have an allergy to eggs, or just want to try something different, use a flaxseed egg.

Flaxseeds are a perfect egg substitute. Plus, flaxseeds are an excellent source of both omega-6 and omega-3 fatty acids. They can help reduce cholesterol and cardiovascular disease. “Both omega-3 and omega-6 help in cell membrane support.” They “also help in the transfer of oxygen in the lungs and are essential to growth in the young.” There are LOADS of information about both omegas, but suffice it to say they’re beneficial to your body and health and there are only a few sources that are rich in both.

So for a flaxseed egg, you mix 1tbsp of ground flaxseed with 3tbsp of water, mix, and let it sit. You’ll see in 5 minutes that it’ll turn gelatinous like an egg white.

For the rest of your crust ingredients, throw it all in a little food processor to grind up into a flour. I didn’t have any walnuts on hand so I used pecans instead. I also didn’t have any rolled oats, so I used quick cooking oats. Neither one was a detriment to the crust. If you have a nut allergy you can try substituting sunflower seeds for the nuts. I think I’m going to give that a try next time.

Then mix your crust ingredients together to form a dough. I had to add to some water to mine because it was a bit too dry. I actually had to use a rubber spatula to spread my crust out because my hands just weren’t working and I wanted it to be fairly even. My mixture was a little sticky so I had to dip my spatula in some water and then press down to spread it out.

Then, as with any crust, poke some holes in it with a fork and then bake it.

While it’s baking get to work on your filling. The filling is easy to make. Chop up your leek and your herbs. The easiest way to chop up basil (there’s a pronunciation battle of this in my house. I say bay-zil, which is the American way, but the Hubs says bah-zil, which is the British pronunciation), is to wrap it up like a cigar and then slice away.

easy way to chop basil

Then chop up your chives. My Cook’s Wisdom says:

These slender, bright green stems are used to give an onionlike flavor without the bite. The slender, hollow, grasslike leaves can be snipped with a pair of kitchen scissors to any length and scattered over scrambled eggs, stews, salads, soups, tomatoes, or any dish that would benefit from a boost of mild oniony flavor. Chives do not take well to long cooking–they lose flavor and crispness and turn a dull grayish green.

Sauté your leek and garlic and set it aside when you’re done. Then get to work on the rest of the filling. Squeeze out the water from your tofu as best as you can. I broke off pieces and squeezed it in my hand and then put it in the food processor. Then add everything else and blitz away. You’ll see how the filling comes out nice and smooth and creamy looking.

tomato and herb quiche filling

Put the filling in a bowl and mix in your herbs and sautéed vegetables. Then pour the filling into your crust and top with your tomatoes.

pre baked tomato and herb quiche

Bake your quiche for 35-40 minutes. Honestly, I didn’t have that long for mine to bake since I started cooking late. I let mine bake for 20 minutes and it turned out fine.

I really don’t know why I was so intimidated by making this dish. Maybe because there are several baking steps? I don’t know because this dish is fairly easy to make. It does take a bit of time because of all the steps, but it’s a fairly easy process. The only thing I’d change is the amount of leek used. I found that one leek was just too much. Next time I’ll use only half.

You can definitely add any kind of meat to this dish if you’re so inclined. You can even use vegan “meat!” There are LOADS of different quiche recipes out there so you can take elements from any one of those and incorporate it into this vegan version. I think I’m going to do that next time.

Final verdict? I like this dish just not the amount of leek that was used.

Leave a Reply

