Portobello Mushroom Steak

Hi y’all! I’ve taken some time off to readjust to fitting in my school work and training, but now I’m back! I have to admit, I did miss blogging. It’s become a part of my weekly schedule and I felt odd when I wasn’t doing it. So let’s get into it, shall we?

One day last week we had portobello mushroom steaks. Lately, I’ve been picking meals that are based around pasta and rice, and I just got tired of it. Plus, basing your meals around empty carbohydrates isn’t good. There is no nutritional value in them. Whenever I remember to, I’ll try to replace rice (sorry Momma!) with quinoa, except in fried rice dishes.

Quinoa has become SO popular in the last few years. Why? Well, this little grain is super nutritious and it’s easy to cook (it takes only 20 minutes just like rice). Quinoa is native to Central America, Peru, and other Andean regions. It’s high in protein, iron, and calcium, with a mix of the B vitamins and other minerals. It also contains a good balance of all essential (meaning your body can’t produce them) amino acids.

Before you cook quinoa, make sure you rinse it first. There’s a coating on it that give it a bitter taste. I might be a bit weird, but I noticed a slight metallic scent when I wash my quinoa. I know the coating is gone when I don’t smell it anymore. To add a bit of flavor, just cook it in broth.

Now for the portobello mushroom. Even if you’ve never eaten it at home, you’ll have seen them on restaurant menus. You’ll most likely see a portobello mushroom burger. It’s common to see that dish because the portobello is so big and meaty.

Did you know that the portobello mushroom is just a crimini mushroom that’s ripe? The little crimini mushrooms are basically young portobellos. They’re high in iron, selenium (an antioxidant), niacin (B3), Folic acid (B9), pantothenic acid (B5), potassium, and phosphorus.

Keep in mind that some people are allergic to mushrooms. I have a sensitivity to yeast and technically I’m not supposed to eat mushrooms, but I do anyway. Anyone with a sensitivity or allergy to yeast or mold might not handle mushrooms well.

Here’s a quick tip on how to clean portobello mushrooms. I bought baby portobellos for my dish because it just worked out cheaper that way.

baby portobello mushrooms

I always rinse the cap of the mushroom first. Then flip it over and you’ll see the gills and stem.

Put your thumb on the stem and pop it off. After that, you can either leave the gills or you can clean them out. The gills won’t harm you; they’ll just make your dish look a bit murky. To clean them out, you simply take a little spoon and carefully scrape.

I always rinse it after I finish scraping. It’s probably totally unnecessary, but I do it anyway.

The recipe I used is from Produce On Parade. She’s a vegan that lives in Alaska! I never would’ve assumed there were that many vegans in Alaska. Yes, I’m jumping to conclusions. I’m quite good at it according to the Hubs.

I deviated from her recipe a bit because I ran out of vegetable broth and my mirin was a year out of date. What is mirin? It’s just a Japanese rice wine but sweeter. Instead of using mirin, I used maple syrup.

So cook your onion and garlic, mix up your sauce, and then put your mushrooms in.

Portobello mushroom steaks

I spooned the sauce over the mushrooms to try to get the caps to soften up a bit. She says to cover the mushrooms and let them cook for about 8 minutes. I did cover mine but I found that the sauce was starting to thicken, and I didn’t think that would create much steam to cook the mushrooms. So I added a splash of water and then covered the mushrooms.

portobello mushroom steaks

Instead of serving my portobellos with mashed potatoes or rice, I served mine with quinoa and some vegetables. The little one likes broccoli so I cooked some of that knowing full well that the Hubs hates it.

Portobello Mushroom Steaks

Honestly, I found that the maple syrup was good in the sauce. The last time I cooked this dish, the little one wasn’t a fan but he ate his up. If you have meat eaters in your house, you can still use this sauce on their meat. I’m now wondering how this sauce would be with tofu!

This dish didn’t take long to cook at all. You can cook your quinoa while you’re preparing and cooking everything else. So, you can probably cook this on a busy weeknight. This is even good for lunch the next day!

Leave a Reply

