Pineapple Shrimp Fried Rice

I hope everyone has been well. It’s been busy in our household and we’ve kind of been trapped in the house due to the smoke from the wildfires in British Columbia coming into our neck of the woods. It smelled like a camp fire outside for the last several days, the sky had a weird hue to it which made the sun quite red, and we found ash in the little one’s kiddie pool! Thankfully, we’re seeing blue skies today so I kicked the little one out to go play outside.

To keep the little one occupied last night, I let him help me make supper…pineapple shrimp fried rice in a pineapple bowl. Don’t let how it looks scare you off. It’s really quite easy to do and it’s quick.

Besides being super juicy and just plain yummy, pineapples have a phytonutrient called bromelain. It’s a protein-digesting enzyme and has been used by clinicians for years. It has anti-inflammatory properties and some anti-aging properties since it reduces tissue irritation.

You cook your rice first, which takes about 20 minutes, and that’s the longest part of the recipe. Seriously! While the rice is cooking, you’ll need to get to work on the pineapple.

You’ll need to slice it in half and then scoop out the insides.

Pineapple shrimp fried rice in a pineapple bowlPineapple shrimp fried rice in a pineapple bowlIMG_5360

Everything that you’ve just scooped out now needs to be cut up into chunks. I think this might be the hardest part of making this recipe because you’ll just keep eating the pineapple. I had the little one help me slice the pineapple, and then he just sat there and wanted to do “quality control” on the pineapple chunks. I was lucky enough to have any left to put in the rice!

Next, you’ll want to cook your shrimp. If you’re making this dish totally vegan, you can substitute any vegan “meat,” but I’m not a big fan of them. You can easily substitute tofu for the shrimp instead. Once your shrimp, tofu, or meat substitute has finished cooking, mix in your rice. The original recipe said to add green onions and garlic. I didn’t have any in my fridge. If you’ve got it, go ahead and throw it in. Then add soy sauce (or tamari to make it gluten-free) and fish sauce. I left it out. Then toss in the pineapple chunks and mix.

Personally, I thought 2 tbsp of soy sauce/tamari was too little and I thought that alone wouldn’t lend enough flavor to the dish. I tried to remember the sweet-and-sour sauce I made and the ingredients I used to make it. I thought it would go really well with this dish since a sweet-and-sour sauce has pineapple as an ingredient. However, I didn’t want to add ketchup or sugar, so I added a splash of rice vinegar. Keep adding your soy sauce/tamari and rice vinegar to taste.

Pineapple shrimp fried rice in a pineapple bowl

Then you just put your rice into the hollowed out pineapple. Ta da!! Simple! This dish is VERY simple and VERY easy to do. Because I skipped a few ingredients, my dish consisted of pineapple, shrimp, rice, tamari, and rice vinegar. Only 5 ingredients and it took me about 30 minutes to do. The little one LOVED it because it was served in a pineapple bowl.

I served ours on a plate because the pineapple juice made the pineapple shells/husks/outside sticky. You can serve yours without a plate if you really want to impress someone.

There are so many ways to make this dish your own. You can add cilantro, green onions (if you actually follow the recipe), and you can make your own sweet and sour sauce to mix in. If you want this dish totally vegan, again, use tofu or another “meat” substitute, and make sure to skip the fish sauce.

Leave a Reply

